September 21, 2011

  • Be careful what you wish for….

    Wow, I haven’t blogged in almost a year!  I was thinking about shooting less weddings, since I started in this business 34 years ago, weddings are getting harder and harder to compete against all the want-a-be start ups out there charging so little and turning out awful work, seems many are just shopping for price and not quality, then they get their photos and its too late.

    So I prayed and asked God to have me shoot more portraits like I did when I first started in business back in 1980. Then came along www.Groupon.com. My first run with them sold 98 family portraits in 72 hours in May 2011, then in August this year ran another offer and really bumped up the value to almost $700 worth of photography for only $99! They sold over 200!! Now I’m busier than any other time in my life shooting 7 days a week all over the place!

    So be careful what you say and ask for…because if you’re a beleiver….it just might happen to you.

     Have a great day everyone happy

Comments (2)

  • Inspiring post. Since I’ve only been in “the business” a shoRt time I appreciate your insights. I’ve now shot 13 weddings and realize my passion is family portraits. I will only shoot small, intimate weddings and try to educate clients as to why they must hire a true Wedding Pro Photographer for larger events…then I give them a list of recommendations. When you hire according to the lowest price YOU GET WHAT YOU DIDN’T PAY FOR!

    I’d like to know more about using Groupon. Pros and Cons?

  • @maryhurlbut - After 34 years Im back shooting portraits and love it. The big thing is that there is more work out there for us pros for portraits of all types than there are wedding clients. Our work speaks volumes to clients and when it comes to cost, how do you put an amount on a photograph of a moment in time thats an original and fully retouched as a piece of art? I am an artist now, no longer JUST a person with a camera just starting out with no back up gear and no experience. I have 34 years and over one thousand weddings to my credit. If you’ve been at your photography for a few years or longer Im sure your work is great, and its not how many you may have shot, its how good the images are and the clients happy! Best to you!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *