Month: April 2007

  • Web Show Already To Go!

     Don’t you just love digital photography?

     It took me 8 hours to download almost a thousand images, edit them down to 374 and retouch add effects, color correct and work dozens of actions on them and I still don’t even have the 200 other closeup images from the Lydells who shot with me yet. But I’m an Animal when it comes to getting out online ASAP web shows for my clients and for my Xanga friends. Don’t blink, this is a new song and timing slideshow from “Show it fast”…and it really does! Enjoy.

    186-(1)   web1 web2

      Click here to see the show!

  • Oh what a Wonderful Wedding we had today.

     

    Here are only a few images from todays wedding. The Lydells helped shoot the ceremony and reception with me. The ceremony was at Sacramentos biggest Cathedral which has just finished a beautiful remodel and the reception was held at The Sterling Hotel which once was the estate of the Weinstock Family that started and owned Weinstocks Department stores throughout the central valley for many years. More images and a web show in a few days.

    IMG_1280 web IMG_1479

    IMG_1316 IMG_1380 IMG_1448 IMG_1744 IMG_1623

    Check out the mirror of Mark with his Mighty Canon 70-200 2.8 IS lens!

     

  • Trying to make my image look like its 3D..Tell me what you think.

    test249

                         3D style                                  Normal Photo

  • Rain or Shine, this Bride was getting married outdoors!

    Here is the lowdown. Its Saturday afternoon around 12:40pm my business phone rings and its a photographer friend calling me & telling me she is really sick and has a wedding today that starts at 4pm for a 6pm ceremony. Its in the Sierra Foothills at a winery and she needs someone to cover it. Its a hour and half drive away from me too.

    The BIG problem:

    1. Not knowing the couple or the families

    2. Its going to rain and be 49degrees out in the early evening

    3. Am I going to be the hero for the bride for coming to her rescue or is she going to hate the idea that I’m not her original photographer she paid for?

    4. I’ve never been to this venue and have no idea where I can shoot from or how they have it all laid out and I don’t have any info on families, groupings or what the Bride is expecting.

    5. I find out the original photographer I am helping only charges a 1/3rd of what I charge, but never mind that, I’m helping out two families and a fellow shooter.

    email4 IMG_0859

    Timing: I start at the Inn in Plymouth ,California its 4pm finish up some shots of the bride getting her hair and makeup on while listening to her go totally ballistic on the phone with the people at the winery. She has told them that she has paid thousands of dollars for her OUTDOOR wedding and she doesn’t care if its a hail storm… she is marching down the isle with her $2500 couture gown and 25 foot long train in the soaking rain, she doesn’t care, its her wedding and thats what she has been planning on for more than a year. The problem here was the winery has never had anyone do this and they wanted her to have the ceremony in the tent where the dinner was to be. Hey, I told her whatever she wanted, its her day.

    My big problem was how am I going to shoot a wedding without destroying all of my new Canon ($30K worth of equipment) in the rain? Well, when I got there I had the employees group together 4 market umbrellas in the back, and I shot from 200 feet away trying not to get any water on my cameras or lenses. Ah.. success it worked!

    Ok it all worked out so far. When we get into the tent, you guessed it water was all over the floor and the wind was still bringing in water and the staff was brushing it out all night long. We all had to work, walk and tiptoe around so not to slip and fall. It was like working in a pool of water all day and night!! Who says we don’t work for our money! Ha!

    Anyhow, I thank GOD for giving me the talent and personality I have to calm down and make people laugh, it really helped the other day and I think my couple and their families are going to love the images I created for them.

    email2 email5 email3 IMG_0921

     email6 email

    IMG_0220 IMG_0901

    IMG_0963   IMG_0981

    You really can’t see it, but it was raining on us the entire time, I think the Bride gained 40lbs in water weight that day with her train, we rang it out about 6 times.

    The grooms Tux coat was so wet it went from light grey to dark charcol in my photos and dosent look that bad, but he was like a sponge too.  

    Hey, at least they can look back and laugh about the day. All in all, it went pretty smoothly after the ceremony started, and the guests didn’t complain a bit, it was like a summer wedding…only different! LOL!!!

  • Have fun and be creative with your photographs

    11x14 email

    There are some really great software programs available to photographers, one which I love to use is FX Borders. They have many new CD’s that do even more,  check them out!

    9

  • Instant Digital Photos are always a Big HiT!

    2 5x7 postcard for mailing

    I keep on forgetting to post this. I’ve been in the Instant Event business now for almost 11 years. If you know of or have any clients that are looking for something new and exciting for a company party, anniversary or any special event, my company Lightning Digital Events is ready. We can shoot and print out in only 15 seconds a real 5×7″ color photograph! I travel anywhere in California and can handle any size group from 25-2500. The Green Screen is the most requested as you can be transformed anywhere in the world with a click of a button and it LOOKS REAL!

    More to come in the next few weeks.

  • Looking back on a few years…

    I was just going through some of my old files and thought it would be fun to show a few photos from weddings a few years ago. Some are from Carmel, San Francisco, San Jose, Sacramento and So.Lake Tahoe, California.

    4 IMG_5110

    DSCF0033 DSCF0308

    IMG_1750 IMG_1936

    DSCF0188

    IMG_1902

    IMG_1914

    IMG_4162

    vizcaya

    IMG_7717

    The weddings you see here were all shot with my old Canon 10D cameras back then. Now I have the new Canon Full Frame 5D cameras and you can really see a huge difference in quality and color. We’ve come a long ways in just a few years with digital capture!

    Software I use for my images : Express Digital, Kubuto Actions, NIK and about 10 others.

     

     

  • They’re at the gate…They’re off!! Wedding season is starting

    I can’t believe another year has passed so quickly. My 2nd wedding of the year is on April 28th and this day officially starts my season. I’m almost completely booked up all the way through October with just a few scattered dates still open. Keep checking in as I will be posting web shows from each wedding every week.

    093 092

     

  • This Sunday is Easter.

    DSC_0015

    Easter is about this cross, Gods Only Son…and his promise to those who believe in him. If you are seeking peace, or am wondering why you are here, if you are discouraged by the world, I encourage you to attend an Easter Service at the nearest Christian based church near you. If you don’t know which church to attend, just email me with your address and zip code and I will locate one for you.  Randy    Borelfoto@aol.com